Movere will automatically determine the state of each User account. States include Active, Disabled, Never Logged On, Retired, Expired etc. Only User accounts in an Active state will be included in the Active User count. All other user states will be excluded.
Just like with devices, the first step to assigning a user account to a specific override is identifying the user account(s) you wish to apply it to. This is achieved from the ‘Search’ bar at the top of the ‘IO\User Tagging’ page:
The user account list can be searched on 17 dimensions including:
Searches can be text or numeric based using the following operators:
NOTE: Search criteria can also be combined using ‘AND’ or ‘OR’ operators. For example:
IMPORTANT: A Tag can only be applied after one or more search criteria have been entered. This reveals the link to the Bulk Update window. The link will appear in the top right of the screen:
Just like device objects, there will be user accounts that will need to excludes from the ‘Active’ group. For example, administrative accounts, service accounts, test accounts, resource accounts, secondary accounts to access domains not trusted by the user’s primary domain, etc.
Just like adding a user account to a Tag, a user account can be removed from the ‘Active’ group by assigning it to an ‘Inactive Reason’ group. This assignment excludes the account from all user and license counts.
To create an inactive reason group, click on the ‘User Types’ option at the top of the User Tagging page:
In the text box that appears, the user can name the device Tag. Clicking on the ‘+’ symbol next to it will make it available for assignment:
To delete a Tag, click on the ‘x ‘symbol. Deleting a Tag will also remove it from any user(s) accounts it has been assigned to:
Finally, just like devices, the overrides assigned to user accounts are persistent, meaning Active Directory data can be continually uploaded and the overrides that have been previously applied will remain in place. Assignments can also be changed at any time and a user account can be brought back into the ‘Active’ group by deleting any inactive reason group that has been applied to it.
Important: Once you are finished creating and assigning tags, you MUST select the Reload icon in the top-right corner to save your tags and populate them across all other Movere views:
Depending on the number of users you are tagging, it can take several minutes for Movere to propagate the tags across all other Movere views.